A birds eye view

This year I have decided to take all the opportunities I can. To stop making excuses and to just….do it. So when offered to go for a ride in a four seater plane I thought why not? Let’s do it.

I’ve never been in a small plane before and didn’t really think much of it until the morning we were going up, when I suddenly got butterflies and started picturing all the terrible things that possible happen in a small plane. My imagination went wild. Luckily I kept it at bay and managed to push on through with this little adventure.

The pilot who took us up is part of a flying school in Krugersdorp so he is able to take up the plane whenever he feels like going flying. The plane is a four seater Piper Cherokee. It is small. Very small.

This is the little plane that we flew in

This is the little plane that we flew in

We arrived at Jack Taylor Airport in Krugersdorp in the morning and drove straight to the hanger where the plane is kept. I was slightly worried when the pilot just went up to the plane, pulled it out, seemed to check one or two things then said “let’s go!”. I thought it would take more time…more checks or something. Seemingly not. So in we jumped.

The inside was small, I was positioned in the back seat with the pilot and my boyfriend in  front. The first thing the pilot did was pull out the map and ask us where we would like to go. We had no idea. So he chose to fly to Parys. A small town along the Vaal River.

This was my view from the back seat. With Mr. Co-pilot navigating with a map.

This was my view from the back seat. With Mr. Co-pilot navigating with a map.

A few checks were made, earphones put on and it was time to take off. The propeller started turning, engine on and off we went along the runway. Soon into the air and soaring above looking down on the world.

There is something so superior about being up in the air. I think its the fact that everything looks so small and inferior. We feel special being able to see the world from above.

View from the sky

View from the sky

The Vaal River

The Vaal River

The Vaal River

The Vaal River

I love the way the river curves, creates such a pretty view from the sky.

I love the way the river curves, creates such a pretty view from the sky.

It took about 45 minutes to fly to the Parys airport. The landing was much smoother than I thought it would be. I braced myself, expecting to hit the roof from bouncing around but it was very smooth, hardly even felt a bump.

At the airport they have a small restaurant where you can have lunch or just a drink. We sat for about half an hour with a drink chatting to the owner Fanie. A lovely man, full of stories from years of living a hard life and going around the block.

The tiny Parys airport, they have a small restaurant where you can have a bite to drink or just a drink.

The tiny Parys airport, they have a small restaurant where you can have a bite to drink or just a drink.

It was then back into the  Cherokee. On the way back to Krugersdorp the pilot took us a different route. We went over the Vaal Dam, checked it out then over Vereeniging and Soweto. This route had much more sites to see than just fields and mine dumps.

The collection of yachts just chilling in the Vaal Dam Harbour.

The collection of yachts just chilling in the Vaal Dam Harbour.

The Vaal Dam wall.

The Vaal Dam wall.

The Vaal Dam

The Vaal Dam

The view of Soweto from the sky. You can see the two Orlando Water Towers.

The view of Soweto from the sky. You can see the two Orlando Water Towers.

Then back to Krugersdorp. We tanked up with fuel and pushed the plane back into the hanger for it to wait till its next flight. So simple.

That was my little adventure in a four seater plane.

I am very proud of myself for not getting sick. There were a few times I eyed out the puke bag in the back seat thinking it was going to come in use. But I conquered on and managed to keep it all in.

It was a great morning!

 

Leave a Reply

