Photos: Spotted in Kruger National Park

I love the bush. It’s the best place to go and just forget about civilization for a few days, or even hours. Driving through the bush with nothing on your mind but trying to spot the next ‘big spotting’ and the excitement you feel when you do, is what makes it so worth the long (sometimes boring) hours spent driving around.

Two weekends ago I went up to Whiteriver in Mpumalanga for the weekend and spent a day in the Kruger National Park. We arrived at about 7am at Numbi Gate, drove through to the Skukuza picnic spot for a skottel breakfast (you can hire a skottel for R25), then down towards Lower Sabie and back towards Numbi Gate. A full day in the park and we saw loads of animals. Four of the Big Five: Lion, Elephant, Rhino, and Buffalo. We also saw giraffes, hippos, zebras, kudus, waterbuck, impala, warthogs, loads of birds and a whole heap of dung beetles.

Overall a big success. A great break from reality. And a big reminder to take more breaks and go explore our amazing wildlife and beautiful game parks.

Here are a few of my favourite photos from the Kruger.

These Terapins were acting super cool just chillen on their rock. They always amaze me how they can stay so dead still

These Terapins were acting super cool just chillen on their rock. They always amaze me how they can stay so dead still

This warthog looked like such a rockstar.

This warthog looked like such a rockstar.

This buffalo skull was strategically placed on the side of the road. Was a really awesome spot, you don't see one of these everyday.

This buffalo skull was strategically placed on the side of the road. Was a really awesome spot, you don’t see one of these everyday.

Such a pretty little Kingfisher perched on a branch. It was hopping around showing off every angle.

Such a pretty little Kingfisher perched on a branch. It was hopping around showing off every angle.

I don't like monkeys, but I really like this photo of the Vervet Monkey mom sitting in the tree with her baby wrapped around her.

I don’t like monkeys, but I really like this photo of the Vervet Monkey mom sitting in the tree with her baby wrapped around her.

You know, just chillen. We were actually really far away from this guy...thank you camera zoom.

You know, just chillen. We were actually really far away from this guy…thank you camera zoom.

Help me get up mom! This was the sweetest moment as the mom elephant turned around to see how her baby was doing climbing up this mound.

Help me get up mom! This was the sweetest moment as the mom elephant turned around to see how her baby was doing climbing up this mound.

"I'm just gonna cool myself down by throwing some sand over me."

“I’m just gonna cool myself down by throwing some sand over me.”

Look at those back legs! Flip, I love elephants. They are so huge and clumbsy looking yet so graceful.

Look at those back legs! Flip, I love elephants. They are so huge and clumbsy looking yet so graceful.

This elephant just looks like he's laughing.

This elephant just looks like he’s laughing.

We watched this Hornbill for about 5 minutes pecking away at this car window, amazed by his reflection.

We watched this Hornbill for about 5 minutes pecking away at this car window, amazed by his reflection.

Sorry guy, your missing a bit of your horn. But you still look GORGEOUS!

Sorry guy, your missing a bit of your horn. But you still look GORGEOUS!

White Rhino, so beautiful.

White Rhino, so beautiful.

Everytime we saw a rhino I couldn't help but think it may be the last rhino that I ever see in the wild. Sad.

Everytime we saw a rhino I couldn’t help but think it may be the last rhino that I ever see in the wild. Sad.

 

2 thoughts on “Photos: Spotted in Kruger National Park

Leave a Reply

